Starting to Panic

23 02 2011

So for those of you who don’t know…..I lost my job back in November 2009 when I was 23 weeks pregnant with our youngest daughter. My company closed the Branch that I worked out of so all of us there became jobless.  They tried to offer me 3 weeks severance plus 2 weeks vaccation pay but that clearly was not good enough. Who was gonna hire a hugely pregnant woman for the money that I was making for only a 3 month contract? um NO ONE! So I decided to sue the company. And I won! I got 12 weeks severance plus my owed vaccation time so that brought me up to my maternity leave.  I then found out that not only was I entitled to my 50 paid weeks off, I was also getting an additional 16 weeks due to the fact that I have never pulled from my Employment Insureance due to being unemployed!  WOOT WOOT! SO all in all that will bring me to May 14th, 2011.

Not a bad deal right? Well now i am shitting my pants because I now have 2 kids to either find day care for which will run us upwards of $1500/month or I have to find part time work in the evenings so that Hubby can stay home with the girls when I leave for work and I will be home with them during the day while he’s at work.  The working in the evenings is the most ideal for me because i am truly a basket case when it comes to finding “sitters” for my kids unless it is close friends or family members. And the thought of putting out $1500/month to a day care provider that I am not truly happy with just doesn’t sit well with me. So I am now on the hunt for a part time job where I can work in the evenings and take care of my kids in the day. Problem is……time is pressing and Im not sure if this is all gonna pan out the way I had hoped! I know I still have 2.5 months however, I am very clear on how fast that time will pass!  Ugh…..here’s hoping something finds ME before then!

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 02 2011
deyank

News like that always perks me up. I’m happy to hear of your good fortune – even with the search for helpers along the way. Here’s hoping you get what you need.

Bill

24 02 2011
mylozmom

Thanks Bill…..I really do appreciate your positive out look!

Leave a Reply

